Spain U23 manager Luis Milla, has named his preliminary twenty-two player squad that he will take with him to London for the Olympic Games. The squad will be narrowed down to eighteen players before the tournament so four of the players below will come off the list. Athletic Bilbao and FC Barcelona are the two clubs with the most players at the tournament with four each. The strong group of youngsters are joined by recent European Champions Javi Martinez (Athletic Bilbao), Jordi Alba (FC Barcelona) and Juan Mata (Chelsea FC). Javi Martinez and Juan Mata have dominated the Spanish midfield together before, having won the U21 European Championship last summer, and they will look to lead their country to yet another honor in international football. Watch this space for profiles of all of the squad members between now and the start of the Olympic Games.


David De Gea (Manchester United)
Diego Marino (Villarreal CF)


Martin Montoya (FC Barcelona)
Jordi Alba (FC Barcelona)
Alberto Botia (Sporting Gijon)
Alvaro Dominguez (Borussia Monchengladbach)
Cesar Azpilicueta (Marseille)
Inigo Martinez (Real Sociedad)


Javi Martinez (Athletic Bilbao)
Koke (Atlético Madrid)
Iker Muniain (Athletic Bilbao)
Oriol Romeu (Chelsea FC)
Juan Mata (Chelsea FC)
Isco Alarcón (Málaga CF)
Ander Herrera (Athletic Bilbao)


Adrian Lopez (Atlético Madrid)
Cristian Tello (FC Barcelona)
Rodrigo Moreno (S.L. Benfica)

One thought on “Spain U23 Squad

  • July 7, 2012 at 8:05 am

    Illaramendi has replaced Thiago.

    I’m also surprised Sarabia isn’t in.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>